Judiciary & Public Safety Committee

Agendas and Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes.


  • Kelly Preston, Chair
  • Joseph Nauseef, Vice-Chair
  • Cathy Bischoff
  • Christopher Newell
  • Douglas Bentley
  • Eugene Waldbauer
  • Susan Wilson


The Judiciary and Public Safety Committee consists of not less than five nor more than seven members who shall oversee:

  • District Attorney
  • Coroners
  • Public Defender
  • Sheriff’s Department, including the Jail
  • Enhanced 911 (E911) Center
  • Department of Emergency Response & Communication
  • Special Traffic Options Program for Driving While Intoxicated (STOP-DWI)
  • Probation Department
  • Alternatives to Incarceration
  • Assigned Counsel

Additional Oversight Responsibilities

The committee shall also oversee the following organizations in their interactions with the County: The Supreme Court, County Court, Family Court, Surrogate’s Court, County Clerk’s function as Clerk of the Court, County Commissioner of Jurors, Justices and Constables, Supreme Court Library, Grand Jury, and the Traffic Safety Board.

The committee shall also oversee maintenance operation of the Jail, Public Safety Building, and Towers. The cleaning and maintenance of the above complexes shall be under the direction of the Sheriff’s Department, with the exception of utilities, outside maintenance, and existing contracts (e.g. elevators, furnaces, natural gas contracts).